My Favorite Entries in Eurovision 2015 (Updated)

Let me clarify. I’m no music expert and this year is the first time I’m fully exposed to Eurovision Song Contest. But so far the experience has been so pleasant. I mean, there are many songs I like. I honestly don’t know what the criteria to win ESC is and some of the songs I’m going to present here are said to ‘will not be able to win’, or ‘not a Eurovision song’, but well… I don’t care 😀 So, here the list goes*… (in no particular order)

*not including songs from Russia, Sweden, Norway, Azerbaijan, Australia, San Marino yet. Either because the official videos/songs haven’t been released/chosen by the time this post is written

  • Italy: Il Volo – Grande Amore

The first time I listened to this song I melted instantly. Their voices reminded me of some of my favorite Italian singers: Il Divo, Andrea Bocelli, especially. And they were so young! How could they have such beautiful voices??? This song can win, in my opinion. Go Il Volo! XD

  • UK: Electro Velvet – Still in Love with You

Seeing Melodifestivalen 2015 had made me thought that the national selection process for Eurovision must have been done that way in every country (open selection). Apparently, that’s not the case of UK. According to what my friends told me, Eurovision’s entry for UK has always been chosen by BBC and the same goes for this entry. In the past few years, UK had been struggling in this competition, so many people might expect more from this year’s entry. Honestly I like this song. The video clip, especially. It’s funny :)))) (for me) And I like that the lyrics have some kind of ‘public health messages’ on it :)))))

Don’t go out in the pouring rain
You might get wet, I’d be upset

You’re bound to get sneezes
Or nasty diseases
Take good care when I’m not there
I’m still in love with you

While I’m on vacation
You be a good patient
Take your medication
I worry so each time I go

Whoever wrote this song must have been quite health-conscious. Or was it related to the famous health system in the UK? We’ll never know 😛

  • Cyprus: John Karayiannis – One Thing I Should Have Done

I first knew this song from my Cypriot friend (Hi Marios! If you read this blog :)))) and I immediately like it! Apparently that was not enough to convince him that I like this song because of the song itself and not because I have a friend from Cyprus ^^’ (the singer is also cute, by the way 😛 ) Well, even my friend thought that this kind of song was not Eurovision song, but anyway….

Actually, I prefer his first arrangement (the one he performed in Cyprus’ final) rather than this new arrangement. But it might be ‘too plain’ for Eurovision’s entry so they might have changed it a little bit (more strings in the latest version). Anyway, good luck for Cyprus! 😀

  • Slovenia: Maraaya – Here For You

When I first watched this video I was kinda like… 😐 And the singer’s voice was… unusual. And what’s with the dancer??

But then I started to like this song and I think this song is really great!! The pianist was really playful and the music was great! Kind of song I really like. Although I’d rather have a real violinist playing in the background rather than the dancer who acted like she played the violin ^^’ Just FYI, according to their official website, the singer & the pianist are married (how cute is that? :3)

  • Estonia: Elina Born & Stig Rästa – Goodbye To Yesterday

I never thought I would be really paying attention to this country’s entry but this song is great! Their musical style reminded me of my favorite band back in Indonesia – Naif, and also of Kings of Convenience (I don’t know if that’s correct, though). Nothing more I could say about this song, but this is another song I can fully enjoy so far 🙂

  • Greece: Maria Elena Kyriakou – One Last Breath

I had been hesitating to write about this, actually because I know my view will be heavily biased ^^’ and so I didn’t include this entry when I first published this. And like the Slovenian’s entry, when I first listened to this song, I was like… :/ It’s supposed to be a sad song, but this song can’t immediately tear my heart apart ❤ I need to listen really carefully and relate to some sad moments in my life (i.e. when I’m learning statistics, which makes me want to beg anyone to take me out of the fiery hell of statistics) to finally appreciate this song. Well, honestly, what I like from this entry is not the song per se, but rather the singer herself. I admire her. She has beautiful voice and impressive track records behind (check her Spotify also!). So, anyway. She’s on my list as well. (I told you this one would be heavily biased! 😛 )

So… here’s my list! What’s your favorites for Eurovision 2015? 😉

P.S. Sweden has finally chosen its entry for Eurovision 2015 when I updated this post! Perhaps I’m gonna write about it in the other post! 😉

7 thoughts on “My Favorite Entries in Eurovision 2015 (Updated)

    • This year’s Norwegian entry is not my favorite, honestly 😉 I also didn’t fancy this year’s Swedish entry (obviously I supported somebody else throughout Melodifestivalen XD ) But I have to say that Sweden has chosen the right song and performance for Eurovision this year and it has a chance to win 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

