Komodo trip, a year later (Part 2)

If you would like to read the previous posts on this series, you could do so here: Part 1

The next day, people from Indahnesia picked me up at the hotel and we went to the pier. That was the first time I met my travelling companions 🙂 Most of them were in pairs or families. Only me and another German tourist who travelled solo.

Honestly, I did not know what to expect but certainly not the fact that we had to take a smaller boat in order to reach the actual ship.

Let’s go!

When we boarded the ship, we had to take off our shoes because there was a no-shoes/sandals policy. Which made sense, I guess…

The deck/dining hall (?)

The crews immediately introduced themselves when everyone was already on board. There were 2 guides, some cooks, a captain, and other crews. The guides then proceeded to divide the cabin for us. Here there was some kind of hiccups because I booked a private 2-person cabin and somehow they placed me in shared 5-person cabin 🤷🏻‍♀️ Luckily they refunded my money, but I could not say it was a really pleasant surprise.

Anyway.

Based on the itinerary for that day, there were 3 places that we would visit: Kelor Island, Manjarite (Menjerite?) Island, and Kalong 🦇 Island. So off we went!

Kelor Island: Unexpected hiking

This is Kelor Island.

Kelor Island

As you could see, it was a tiny island, with a tiny hill. Now the thing is, nobody, I said, nobody warned me that we would climb that hill. Of course, you might think, what’s the big deal? It did not seem so bad.

WRONG!

It was a steep hike, with the sandy surface, and to make it worse, there were no rail guards whatsoever.

I was like, nope nope nope nope nope 😂

But then my travel buddies encouraged me. There was even an older couple started climbing and the guide promised to help me climb (read: literally dragged me upwards). So by some miracle, I eventually reached the top!

Of course, the view was beautiful on top and I could see why people said I should do this. But I was so terrified at all times we were there.

I have posted this picture on my social media before but it was pretty much the only decent picture I had up top:

Terrified smile

I mean, the view from down below was no less beautiful, don’t you agree?

View from Kelor Island

Manjarite Island: You should be snorkelling here

Or at least that was the plan. But seeing that the weather was cloudy and windy, some people and I just decided to keep ourselves dry and explore the island instead.

I mean, there was not much to see on the land, but it was OK, I guess…

Manjarite Island

Kalong Island: Meet batman’s friends 🦇🦇🦇

This was the third and final destination for the day. Here we did not actually go to the island, but we stayed on board in order to see a thousand bats went out from the island (and look for foods, I guess?) around dusk. Btw, kalong means bats in 🇮🇩

🦇🦇🦇

It was a bit worrying at first because it rained just sometime before we actually reached the island. They even had to close the deck with plastic coverings. But it stopped shortly afterwards, so that was good.

When it’s raining
Dusk at sea

So that was it for the first day on board! Hope I could share the next part soon. Take care!

4 thoughts on “Komodo trip, a year later (Part 2)

Leave a comment