Selamat Idul Fitri/Eid 1445 H

Another year, another Eid away from home. (But where is home, really?)

This year’s Eid falls on Wednesday.

In the beginning I had no intention of cooking traditional dishes like before, because it’s gonna be in the middle of the week, and I couldn’t invite anyone.

But then in the supermarket, I was inspired. I had this instant seasoning for opor (past best before date, actually), and if I was gonna be by myself, then it would suffice.

So I bought the chicken and coconut milk. I even found video instruction for the dish (which actually differs from the instruction in the packaging).

I also made rice cooker ketupat, which I have made several times before.

So here’s a little festive dish for myself.

I also got some Eid cookies, which is kind of a luxury items for me these days.

Are you team nastar, kastengels, or putri salju?

In the morning, I went for Eid prayer with Indonesian folks, in the hope of getting more food. Last year I went to Stockholm’s mosque and it was pretty crowded, and no food (of course).

I arrived like an hour before, because I wasn’t sure how full the venue was gonna be. Turned out to be ok.

Met some friends there. I was happy to get rendang and sayur ketupat, in addition to opor and ketupat which I myself had at home. Also had some cakes afterwards (including the green one 😂)

For me, the celebration is more festive this year (especially if you’ve been reading my previous Eid posts). But actually, I was pretty sad when Ramadan was over. I don’t know why. I mean, of course, you often heard that we should be sad because this is such a blessed period, and we don’t know if we’ll still be around next year. But it’s not every year that I feel this way. Perhaps because I feel like I haven’t maximise the praying opportunity this year?

I don’t know.

But anyway, hope you have a lovely day, wherever you are.

At least my mukena is green

2 thoughts on “Selamat Idul Fitri/Eid 1445 H

Leave a comment