2020: My own reflections

On the new year of 2020, my friends brought a Greek New Year’s cake (Βασιλόπιτα) for us to cut at midnight. By divine providence, I got the slice which contains the coin 🪙, and it is believed that those who got the coin will get lucky 🍀 So I entered the year, believing that 2020 was going to be my lucky year.

Now I don’t have to tell you what actually happened in 2020. But despite everything, I still held on to the belief that this was my lucky year.

And indeed, I have so many things to be grateful of.

My residence permit extension was approved in time at the beginning of the year, so that I could meet my mother, even only for one day, during her Eurotrip in Paris.

My first PhD article was also published at the beginning of the year, after more than 2 years of working. It was relatively well-received, albeit in the middle of a pandemic (and everybody’s mind was probably not exactly on mental health/injury). I also got the opportunity to speak to some journalists about my study (in Swedish! Example here), something that I know will not happen everyday in the life of a researcher. 👩🏻‍💻

That paper was also published just in time before my half-time seminar. Although I know it is not a prerequisite to do the half-time seminar, it kind of lift the burden slightly (because I have been working for 2 years plus – having something to show feels… liberating in a way). But that is not the only thing to be grateful for. I got a nice and helpful half-time committee. And even though I connected to my half-time seminar (it was completely online) feeling like I was about to be grilled alive, we ended up having a nice discussion along the way. A lot of friends also joined in and I was so happy to see them all 🤗

The only picture I had for my half-time 😅

This year also marked the time I did my Ramadan fasting completely alone. I think there was a day or two when I completely skipped the sahur (pre-dawn meal) 😂 But thankfully I survived. The perks with this year’s Eid was that I was able to connect with my extended family through video conference. It’s been at least 5 years since I joined the Eid gathering with my family. So that was nice.

I think Eid was the first time in after the pandemic started that I put up some makeup again (didn’t even do that for my half-time)

As the weather got warmer for the summer, I spent quite a few times outdoor. I also got new bicycle, as you probably know. Although… I rarely use it now 🙈 I’m afraid it’s gonna be another short-lived interest of mine.

I also got a new, nicer viola, which I called Icarus, although he’s actually German. I also joined an orchestra (God how much I missed playing with an orchestra), although it was of course short-lived and we turned to Zoom rehearsal in the end. I really hope I can have a concert with them someday.

The piece I’m currently learning. Can you guess what is it?

I also wrote a book! Together with some friends in Sweden. It is now available here. Here I’m writing about my experience on getting into a PhD program in 🇸🇪

Of course 2020 was also supposed to be an interesting time because I turned 30! It was of course not an ideal situation but I tried my best to make the most out of it.

Can you believe that these balloons still stand until today? (The helium one started to deflate, but still floating, nevertheless)

I also got a small grant, which I am inherently grateful of. Never, in my 3 years of doing a PhD have I ever won a grant. Even the travel grant, which everybody seems to be getting 🥲 But anyway. Another blessing for 2020.

To top it off, we had a white Christmas this year! Finally! After 5 years or so!

And of course I could not have gone through the 2020 without my near and dear. So if you read this, thank you very much for helping me survive through this weird year. Here’s to a better future for us!

3 thoughts on “2020: My own reflections

Leave a comment